The Rosalind Prize for Fiction is Born

The Following is an excerpt from the Globe and Mail article, “Canada’s Orange Prize: Why we created an award just for female writers”

Full article:

By Marsha Lederman

Published October 24th

Janice Zawerbny: ‘I didn’t want to put “women” in the title. I wanted it to be a fiction prize’ she says of the Rosalind Prize she is launching.

How is a new literary prize born? Out of frustration, it seems.

The rain was teeming that night, but the real storm was happening onstage at the Vancouver Writers Fest: Five women, including the founder of the U.K.’s Orange Prize for Fiction, were discussing the state of affairs for female writers. It was not a happy tale: There is extreme gender inequality in the awarding of literary prizes both internationally, and in Canada.

“I didn’t know that Canada was as bad as it is,” said novelist Susan Swan, one of the panelists. “I think the situation; I think it stinks. … I’m frankly ashamed.”

Janice Zawerbny, editorial director at Thomas Allen Publishers, was in the audience and was galvanized by what she heard.

“I was shocked and dismayed,” she recalled in an interview on Tuesday. “I just felt compelled to take action.”

Over dinner with Swan and others in Vancouver this past weekend, Zawerbny hatched a plan – a prize for female writers of fiction in Canada. Back in Toronto this week, she gave it a name: the Rosalind Prize for Fiction.

“I didn’t want to put ‘women’ in the title. I wanted it to be a fiction prize,” said Zawerbny, 44. The prize is named for Rosalind, the intelligent, resourceful and witty protagonist of Shakespeare’s play As You Like It. A secondary reference is to the British biophysicist Rosalind Franklin, who made critical, but overlooked contributions to the discovery of DNA.

Zawerbny has not had time to iron out the details, but hopes to present the inaugural Rosalind Prize in 2014. She is already thinking about how to attract corporate sponsors for the award.

A month ago, Swan (her most recent book is The Western Light) was unaware of any problem. Asked to be on this panel, however, she did some research and was shocked by what she found: Seven of 19 winners of the Giller Prize have been women. And about a third of the winners of the Governor-General’s Award for English-Language Fiction have been women. The Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour has been awarded to only five women since it was established in 1947. (This received a particularly loud guffaw from the Vancouver audience.)

When fellow Canadian novelist Jane Urquhart suggested Swan check out the Nobel Prize for Literature numbers, the result was more disheartening: Only 12 of the winners since 1901, or about 11 per cent, were women.

“I believed the myth that women dominate our literature and dominate the book coverage and dominate the prizes,” said Swan, 67, on Tuesday. “I didn’t expect to find what I found.”

To read more:

Vancouver  Sun
Women ‘under-reviewed’ and ‘under-valued’ in literature
poet Gillian Jerome, who founded Canadian Women in the Literary Arts, novelist Susan Swan and Australian author Gail Jones. The numbers that so dismayed

Zawerbny was inspired to action after attending a panel at the Vancouver festival, where UK Orange Prize founder Kate Mosse, Canadian author Susan Swan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.